…are you ready for it?

Guess who’s back, back again, Shak is back, tell a friend! Has it really been 6 months since I last wrote a blog, where is this year going, I swear we’ll be singing christmas carols and eating turkey before you know it! I’m not really sure why I stopped writing this blog, I guess life just gets in the way sometimes, but I thought I’d give it another go, I’m sure you all missed me wittering on right?

So what’s new with you guys? I feel like so much has happened in the past 6 months, including the big news, I finally graduated!! Never thought the day would come if I’m being honest, between being unwell and changing courses it’s been a bit of a whirlwind, but I graduated in July with a 2:1 in Biomedical Science, and not gonna lie I’m quite proud of myself! All the meltdowns and stress have finally paid off, I now have a Bachelor’s degree and the world is my oyster! Graduation was such a wonderful day, my family were so proud and it genuinely meant the world to have them there supporting me, and of course any excuse to wear a new dress and a harry potter cape is a day well spent right? We had a beautiful meal at La Bastille; hit it up the food is absolutely beaut! I swear I’ve never spent so much time trying to get my hair and makeup to sit perfectly, but sure a gal’s gotta look her best right? Speaking of makeup, I treated myself to a sneaky lil Morphe eyeshadow palette, and I swear it’s my new best friend, so many colours to choose from, very pigmented, stays on all day and a reasonable price, what more could you want?

19665127_1455116241200585_6338177368658026536_n
You’re a wizard Shakira!

So now that I’d graduated, the next thought process was “shit I’m an adult I actually have to get a job and support myself, eek!” But lo and behold I got myself a lil lab technician job up until Christmas, so I’m a very happy gal! And I have an interview for a hospital job next month, so here’s hoping things go well, wish me luck! I’ve even doing 12 hour shifts how grown up am I, although I reckon I’ll start to resemble a zombie soon enough… I was terrified at being left in charge of the lab, but it’s a great learning curve for me and I’m getting on well! Speaking of being a proper adult, I only went and bought my first lil car, Francine the Fiat! There’s something about having your own car that makes you feel so independent and grown up, and if anyone sees me out driving and I look like I’m talking to myself, there’s a 99% chance I’m singing my heart out to Taylor Swift… Oh and she has a new album out in November so even more songs to blast in the car!

The fact I’ve made it this far is proof that you should never give up, no matter what life throws at you, whether it be an illness, or someone saying you can’t do it, you can and you will, trust me! I was so shy when I was in school, and I never thought I’d be able to head off to uni by myself, make new friends, get a job, but I have, and I’m a better person for it. I’m more confident, more outgoing, and just a lil bit sassy (not sure if that’s a good thing or not!)

th

But I’m sure that’s enough for you to read for now, talk soon!

Shakira

x

Leave a comment